——creativity never goes out of style——

DIY Sailor Knot Headband

33 Comments

IMG_3758

Happy Monday! Another weekend gone by, but well spent. On Friday night we went for a walk and a movie date with friends, then had a relaxing day at home Saturday and then yesterday morning my hubby and I did yard work. So to treat ourselves we decided to spent Sunday afternoon strolling along the lake after a coffee date followed by an amazing dinner of all-you-can-eat-sushi!!! After a long days work, it’s pretty disgusting astounding how much sushi a full grown man and a pregnant lady can really eat. haha we won’t go there….

It’s mini dates with my man that I am truly cherishing right now. We know that in five short weeks we will be welcoming a new addition to our family so we are taking full advantage of all the one on one time together that we can get. We know that with a new baby our time as a family will change, but we also know the importance of taking the time to reconnect with each other to keep our relationship strong. But in the meantime I’m loving having him all to myself.

Time for the crafting! I thought this would be a great diy to post as the perfect solution to getting through these last few hot weeks of summer! I made several of these headbands. Some for the beach, working out, washing my face, or when I want a cute spin on a regular ponytail day. All you need is an old T-shirt (or any fabric that has a little bit of stretch) and a sewing machine or hot glue gun! It’s soooo easy:

Cut two horizontal strips from the bottom of your t-shirt. (cutting through both layers about an inch and a half wide)

IMG_3703Pull gently until the pieces are stretched out.

IMG_3704Lie the first piece down on a surface like this.

IMG_3705Lie the second piece on top like this.

IMG_3706Tuck both ends of the top piece under the first piece like this.

IMG_3707The end of the top piece will go under the opposite end through the loop.

IMG_3708Pull all four ends of the material so the knot tightens up.

IMG_3709The ends of your material will probably be uneven like this.

IMG_3710Cut the ends even and lie on a small rectangular piece of fabric.  I used a piece of flannel material that I had.

IMG_3712Sew back and forth across the ends to attach it to the rectangular piece of fabric. If you don’t have a sewing machine, a hot glue gun will also do the trick!

IMG_3713Wrap the rectangular piece of fabric around the ends and secure by sewing back and forth with a sewing machine or use your hot glue gun! Ta-da! You’re done!

IMG_3714

IMG_6523

A wise man once said, ‘a smooth sea never made a skilled sailor. ~Author Unknown

Author: Domestic Ingenuity

I am a DIY-ing, crafting, thrifting, baking, sewing, cooking, deal-loving gal with too much energy and a love for creating.

33 thoughts on “DIY Sailor Knot Headband

  1. Pingback: 8 Delightful Ribbon Tutorials - Drency Ribbons & Crafts Community

  2. Pingback: Plans for an arts and crafts-y December (AKA last minute Xmas gift ideas…) – Self Assembly Required!

  3. Pingback: Pour patienter | Clémentine & Chocolat

  4. Pingback: 不要なTシャツとボトムスのリメイク有効活用法

  5. wow great, i want make it soon. may i share your blog? thanks

  6. If you don’t have a sewing machine can you hand sew this project?

  7. So Cute! I’m not a sewing person but bought a few shirts and ta da 15 team color headbands ready for our tournament. Thanks! Cost affective too!

  8. Well, tried this and #1 it’s too small for me, #2 Hot gluing it DOES NOT work! I was soo disappointed :( Pinterest fail lol!

  9. Pingback: 4 Ways to Recycle Old Tshirts | itsonlyaly

  10. I am so happy I found this. I have lupus and after a recent flare began losing my hair. I’ve been looking for headbands I can put together easily to hide my thinning and protect my scalp from sunburns. This came together in no time! Plus the purpose is two-fold as it not only hides my bald spots but since I used my military hubby’s old t-shirts, makes it so I can have a little something of him close even when he’s gone.

    • I absolutely love your story about keeping your husband close to you with this DIY. It is stories like yours that inspire me to keep creating simply because making someone’s life a little easier is all it takes to make me happy! I’d love to see your version of this headband!

  11. Thanks for the tutorial! Tried it and it came out perfect! I don’t have a girl but some of my friends do, and a few girl baby showers are coming up :) thanks again!

  12. Love it!! I took an old but still lookin new white pair of knit pants and made 2! Looks great!!!! Gonna share with my church lady friends!

  13. Pingback: 40+ Homemade Gift Ideas For Fall | Rock It Like A Mom

  14. Keep working ,impressive job!

  15. I realllllyyyy hope you see this!!!! What if i want to make one for a one year old?! Do i do anything differently??

    • Hey! If you are making this headband for a lil one I would simply suggest cutting the length of the bands on either side to make a smaller headband diameter. The knot and all other steps would remain the same. Let me know how it turns out :)

  16. Pingback: DIY Hair Accessories & 2014 Spring Hair Color Trends

  17. I love this…I just made one for me and one for my daughter…too cute!

  18. love going to try this afternoon :)

  19. Pingback: A little sick day crafting. | createdfamily

  20. Pingback: DIY Sailor Knot Headband | Home and Heart DIY

  21. This is cute and easy! I just tied the ends together with some leftover fabric because I plan on wearing my hair down. Took me 5 minutes!!

Leave a comment