——creativity never goes out of style——

Playroom Transformation

2 Comments

PicMonkey Collagedfgg

  I’m so excited to finally share these pictures with you! The third bedroom in our house has never really had a purpose since we moved in two years ago, let alone any style. It started with a spare bed in it, then it transformed to a craft room, next we had a huge corner desk in it among all my workout equipment and yoga stuff. So it was my office/craft room/yoga room/ugly room. But all in all, it was mostly just a wasted space. With a computer being the only useful thing we needed in the room, it seemed impractical to use the entire area for a computer. So we sold the computer desk, but then my little man was born and I had no time to shower, let alone craft or redecorate a room.

But as the accumulation of toys got larger and larger I was losing my mind. If you are not aware, I have a color phobia when it comes to decor. I am always drawn to neutral and natural elements so the colorful baby toys were really starting to really throw off my feng shui… haha and not to mention that before I knew it I had a toy box in every room. It felt like I was just constantly moving toys from one room to the other as opposed to actually cleaning anything up. So that’s when I decided that we desperately needed a playroom. A home for all the toys, puzzles, games and a space that kids could enjoy. I figured since the rest of the decor in my house was so muted, I wanted this room to be a mish mash of colors, patterns and designs. If a rainbow could vomit, this room would be it. So off to the wonderful world of Pinterest where I found this inspiration.

I loved the shelving and globe from this space.

Playroom

thebump.com

I fell in love with this black and white contrasting carpet. Sidenote: I found an orange wing back chair that looked exactly like this, but even cooler, at a garage sale for $20 but it sold before I could grab it!! It still haunts me. So I’m searching for a replacement chair.

Cool chair #projectnursery #franklinandben #nursery

projectnursery.com

And I loved the bright colors and randomness of this gallery wall!

@HonestlyWTF shares Quincy’s Room redesign, featuring our Bone Feather Wallpaper, Macrame Rug, Cabot Bookshelf, Celadon Crib Sheet, and more!

honestlywtf.com

After seeing this I knew I needed a chalkboard wall.

Another fun chalkboard wall... Love the hanging photos too!

kristendukephotography.com

So I went to work searching for all the pieces that would pull this room together. With a very small redecorating budget the madness started. After collecting toys from thrift stores, a trip to Ikea and finding fabric to sew pillows and curtains, I was ready to start! This was the undecided space before.

IMG_6514 IMG_6515 IMG_6519 IMG_6518

Now do you see why I was dying to create a fun space that didn’t burn my eyeballs when I walked in? Although I am still looking for the perfect accent chair and I still want to create a bookshelf wall, this is what it looks like now!!

IMG_7674 IMG_7659 IMG_7663 - Copy PicMonkey CollageIMG_7688

I still needed a home for my computer so I emptied out and reorganized my craft closet, moved the shelving and made a mini closet office. I reupholsted and painted a funky chair and the best part is that I can close the doors and all the cords stay out of the kids reach and out of my sight.

 IMG_7688

I used old pantry canisters from a thrift store and my DIY Chalkboard label tutorial to create unique storage bins.

IMG_7669

Some of my vintage thrift finds.

IMG_7671 IMG_7672 IMG_7673

My DIY Vintage Number Art found a perfect home.

IMG_7684I painted a colorful picture and sewed a monogram pillow for a comfy reading spot.

IMG_7680

IMG_7681

You can never have too many comfy pillows!

IMG_7683

Total Cost: $233.00

       Area Rug                                      = $100.00

Shelves $40.00 each x 2              = $80.00

Pillow Inserts                                  =$10.00

Fabric for pillows                           = $10.00

Fabric for curtains                          =$6.00

Materials for Sunburst mirror       =$7.00

Chalkboard Paint and Trim          =$20.00

The area rug was our biggest splurge but I just fell in love with it. Besides the rug, the rest of the room cost me under $150 to redesign!! I am so happy with how it turned out and once I find the perfect chair it will be complete! The kids love it and I love that my house isn’t littered with toys! It’s a win win!

“Time is a game played beautifully by children.” ― Heraclitus

Author: Domestic Ingenuity

I am a DIY-ing, crafting, thrifting, baking, sewing, cooking, deal-loving gal with too much energy and a love for creating.

2 thoughts on “Playroom Transformation

  1. Chels it looks soooo good!!! Love that a rainbow threw up at your place!! Color is soooo much fun for the kiddos!!! Judah can’t wait to come for a play date someday !!

Leave a Reply

