——creativity never goes out of style——

Nursery love…

Leave a comment

PicMonkey Collage

It is bittersweet. My sister is pregnant right now and my ‘baby’ boy is only a few weeks away from becoming a toddler! Ahhhh. Needless to say, I am definitely reminiscing about when I was pregnancy and how much I loved all the preparations before baby. My favorite project was definitely my nursery. Check it out here! I loved planning and pinning like a mad women to get inspiration and ideas. But now with a busy little boy on my hands and no plans for #2 quite yet, I will be living vicariously through my sister!

Since she has decided to keep the gender a surprise I am obsessing thinking about all the ways she can decorate the nursery. I personally always gravitate towards gender neutral nurseries anyways, with the exception of a few gender specific nurseries here and there that I fall in love with. I just love how unique and creative nurseries have become, with the traditional pinks and blues a thing of the past.  However, I am quite a color phobe myself. I just finished designing our family playroom which is an explosion of color (which I will be sharing soon :) ) but besides that  I prefer muted colors.  I don’t like sleeping in a room that feels like a giant kaleidoscope…haha But if I was brave enough for a colorful nursery, these would be my top picks.

Whatever you choose, try designing a space that your baby can grow into through childhood. It is much more cost efficient and practical than repainting and redesigning a few years down the road. By picking paint colors and furniture that is age appropriate for a kid’s room, it’s an easy fix to swap out those baby toys for stuffed animals when the time comes.

 So for those of you that are looking for some funky ideas for your own nursery, look no further. And you can follow me on Pinterest at Domestic Ingenuity for more of my favorite pins. Have a great weekend!

A colorful eclectic nursery which will be stimulating for baby but a pleasant grown-up space for adults. I love how the art ties the orange accent together and mimics the curtains; a childlike space that's not childish!

lonny.com

2014 #Nursery Trend: Pallet walls, rustic wood finishes, warm plaids and faux taxidermy of all shapes, colors and materials are officially the new nursery norms.

We love this modern, gorgeous nailhead @potterybarnkids glider in this eclectic nursery!

Exposed Brick Nursery Wall

An eclectic nursery that is serene and masculine and successfully combines all the trends: maps, modern, vintage, chevron, geometric ...

this is what we will be doing with barn wood and yellow walls.  Think the picture frames are super cute

Chalkboard wall behind crib - #nurserydesign #chalkboardwall

add wainscoting to room below bird wallpaper   ? Modern Vintage Boys Nursery with antique Mexican print - #modern #nurserydesign

project.nursery.com

Love these navy/peacock walls...Benjamin Moore "Van Deusen Blue".  Leah Moss nursery via ApartmentTherapy.com

Ruby's Happily Eclectic Nursery Nursery Tour - I think I want some of those Ikea spice racks, painted red.

I love this to a ridiculous degree considering it's in a baby's nursery...(read this is going in my hallway.)

apartmenttherapy.com

Madeline Weinrib Indigo Brooke Cotton Carpet in boy's nursery by mstockton1

indulgy.com

Woodland nursery

lizmarieblog.com

etxekodecoblogspot.com

geology nursery

bhg.com

And last but not least! My own nursery!

reveal

domesticingenuity.com

Sweet dreams.

Author: Domestic Ingenuity

I am a DIY-ing, crafting, thrifting, baking, sewing, cooking, deal-loving gal with too much energy and a love for creating.

Leave a Reply

