——creativity never goes out of style——

DIY Nursing Cover

Leave a comment

IMG_3809

For the past year I have been faithfully posting every second day on my blog which has been a big commitment that I’m quite proud of! However with only 14 more days left until my due date, I’m officially feeling the weight (literally) of pregnancy. I haven’t been feeling well the past few days, sleeping is a thing of the past and since I’m back to work chasing around kids I’m exhausted by the time I get home. So the last thing my back can handle when I get home is sitting on a computer for hours to blog, so I apologize for this post being a few days late. For all my faithful followers, forgive me over the next two weeks pre-baby and the following few weeks post-baby if my posts are a little less than regular. I hope to get into a good routine after baby comes though so don’t worry.

This post inspiration came from seeing so many unique and beautiful nursing covers around town. I was curious what these cost and was surprised that a simple cover could cost $50!! For a simple rectangle cloth with a strap there was nnoooo way I was paying that much! So for those of you that are looking for a more cost effective way to get your hands on your own cover, try out this tutorial. Trust me… it’s sew easy! haha If you can sew a straight line, you can sew this cover! I bought two pieces of fabric at Walmart for $11 so for only $5.50 per nursing cover, you can’t go wrong! Not to mention that you can choose from so many beautiful fabrics to custom make one to match your personal taste!

You will need:

  • 1 yard of fabric (you will need a piece 40 inches long by 30 inches wide)
  • scissors
  • 14″ piece of boning (at a fabric store this cost me $1)
  • Spool of ribbon (about 1 inch wide)

Step 1  Wash and dry your fabric. Cut your fabric into a rectangular piece that is 30 inches wide by 40 inches long.

IMG_3796

Step 2 Fold a 1 inch hem along the bottom of your fabric and iron. Fold over another inch, iron again and pin. On the perpendicular sides (the two shorter sides) do the same thing.
IMG_3797
Step 3 If you’d like to insert an inside pocket like I did for pacifiers, tissues, breast pads etc cut out a triangle piece of fabric 10 inches by 10 inches. (any scrap piece of fabric will do)
IMG_3798
Step 4 Just tuck the triangle piece into the bottom of either corner and pin into place
IMG_3799
Step 5 Sew your hem around all three sides. (I changed my mind and sewed my pocket on the bottom right side and sewed a straight stitch from the corner to the edge of the lace so it make two pockets)
IMG_3800
Step 6 Now for the top of your cover. Fold over 1 inch and iron, then fold over another inch and iron again. Now fold your cover in half to find the center of the top.
Measure 7 inches in from the center and mark with a pin on both sides:
IMG_3801
Step 7 Sew the hem along the top of your fabric in between your two pins.
IMG_3802
Step 8 Insert your 14″ piece of boning with the curve out to the right side of your fabric:
IMG_3803
Step 9 Sew a small back stitch up the seam through your boning (perpendicular to your hem) to secure the boning in place. Now to attach the straps.  Insert the strap right side up under the hem next to the boning. Fold it up over the hem, iron and pin in place.
PicMonkey Collage
Step 10 Repeat with the other strap on the opposite end of the boning. (I made one strap 31 inches and the other only 18 inches so it ties up on by my collarbone as opposed to the back of my neck.) Now just sew the remainder of the hem in place, from the strap to each edge.
IMG_3808
That’s all! You’re done! Now you can happily nurse your lil’ one wherever you need under the comfort of your own nursing cover!
Author: Domestic Ingenuity

I am a DIY-ing, crafting, thrifting, baking, sewing, cooking, deal-loving gal with too much energy and a love for creating.

Leave a Reply

