——creativity never goes out of style——

DIY Nursery Gallery Wall

2 Comments

IMG_3778

In our nursery we painted a fun feature wall so there was only one other large bare wall left where I could do something really creative with. I love the idea of gallery walls, as you might remember from my diy wedding gallery wall. So it was just a matter of when and where I would find all my art pieces for this gallery.
I knew it was going to be coastal themed so at least I had a rough idea of the look I was going for. I also knew the color palette and textures I wanted to decorate the nursery with as well.  I was inspired by this large living room gallery wall I saw online. (I didn’t necessarily like all the animal prints, it was strictly the colors and contrasting images I was drawn too.)

de9db0d8c3f6ce676d6dadc2a1fd7fee

So I started keeping my eyes peeled for anything and everything that I could transform or diy for my gallery wall. I also like non traditional pieces instead of everything being a picture frame. My first find was this seagull piece. I found him on our road trip to California at a little thrift store in Tillamook, Oregon. He was only $6 so he joined us for the rest of our road trip.

IMG_3776

The next stop on our road trip was Medford, Oregon which is where I found the sailboat picture in the middle of the gallery wall. ( I forgot to take a picture) It was in a clearance section for only $11 so in my trunk it went!

Finally at our farthest destination in Sacramento, California I found this funky weathered eye chart. I loved the quote and the fact that it was also clearance for only $10! Start the car! It was a steal. My poor hubby was subject to repacking the car every time I found another art piece that we needed to find room for. But he knows that once I have a vision…. or a deal…there is no stopping me.

IMG_3777

Once I came home I started peeking around local thrift stores. I found this awesome lake sign for only $2! I took it home, drilled some holes in each side and tied on some rope. Then I dug up my old vintage door knob that I took from an old abandoned cabin on one of our camping trips.

 IMG_3773

A couple weeks later, I came across a thick wooden picture frame thrifted for only $1. I took it home, painted it cream to match the eye chart and weathered it. To further match the eye chart theme I typed this cute alphabet image with the teal color to match the sailboat picture and printed it off.

IMG_3772

I was also in search of a metallic frame and found this one for $1 at a garage sale. Instead of paying for a print, I just Google searched some whale images and printed off the one I wanted. I cut out the part of the picture I liked, and used scrap booking brads (metal studs) in the corners to attach the image to an old piece of canvas fabric that I had.

IMG_3770

As I found each of these art pieces I would lie them out on the  nursery floor and constantly rearrange them until I figured out what looked right and what colors or sizes I still needed to find. For the final touch I still needed a small square shape. One afternoon as I walked down my hall past my wedding gallery wall I saw the chunk of wood that I had painted white and attached my diy wedding cake topper too. So I took off the topper and into the nursery it came. I was racking my brain to think of what I could make a monogram letter with until I peeked over at my whale mobile. Driftwood! So some hot glue and some more metal studs and wa-la!

IMG_3774

Sidenote:

Of course I couldn’t leave an empty spot on our wedding gallery wall so I printed off a vintage map of Mexico and added a small heart to where we got married. Then I bought a cheap shadow box and gave my diy wedding cake topper a new home.

Õ

Anyways…. once I knew what pictures I wanted where, I traced each shape onto wrapping paper and attached them to the wall to make sure I liked the layout.

IMG_3124

Then my hubby started hanging all the pictures!!!

IMG_3779

I am so happy with my gallery wall! The best part is that three of the pieces I made myself, and the other pieces are from our first official ‘family’ road trip when I was only three months pregnant. So every time I walk by this wall I’m reminded of how much freekin’ money I saved our special trip. In total this wall cost me $31. I would have maybe been able to buy one small picture at a decor store for that price if I was lucky.

So if you`re thinking about creating a gallery wall, don`t limit your ideas to expensive art work or costly prints. With internet images, a printer, cheap frames, thrift store finds and random art you are closer than you think to a custom gallery wall! Happy crafting!

True art is characterized by an irresistible urge in the creative artist. – Albert Einstein

DIY Nursery Projects:

  1. DIY Stuffed Animal
  2. DIY Framed Letters
  3. DIY Whale Mobile
  4. DIY Nursery Gallery Wall
  5. DIY Bowtie Bunting
  6. DIY Change Table
  7. DIY Nautical Wooden Art
  8. DIY Toy Bench
  9. DIY Glider Chair Cover
  10. DIY Adjustable Crib Skirt
  11. DIY Dresser
Author: Domestic Ingenuity

I am a DIY-ing, crafting, thrifting, baking, sewing, cooking, deal-loving gal with too much energy and a love for creating.

2 thoughts on “DIY Nursery Gallery Wall

  1. This looks awesome! I love the nautical theme. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the projects and the whole nursery when it’s finished!

Leave a Reply

