——creativity never goes out of style——

Dangers in Cosmetics?!

Leave a comment

image

Since I was 13 years old I had always used cheap drugstore face products. I figured why change products and mess with a good thing?! But was it a good thing?! Turns out I had NO idea what I was putting on my skin. You skin is your body’s largest organ for eliminating toxins and absorbs 60% of what you put on it, so be informed about what products you are using. In any given day you can be exposed to over 200 different chemicals! Sadly, even products labeled ‘natural’ or ‘organic’ often contain synthetic chemicals, and even truly natural or organic ingredients are not necessarily risk-free. These ‘safe’ products can contain petrochemicals and as little as 10% certified organic ingredients. So what products do you trust?! I decided to naively buy a $60 cleansing line called Botanicals by Mary K. It sounded good to me. But since I’m cheap frugal I had a hard time with spending that much money so I wanted to double check that it was worth the moo-lah.

So, I researched…. and researched. And after many hours of internet googling on harmful cosmetic chemicals I was overwhelmed and frankly terrified of everything I had in my medicine cabinet including the new products I had just bought. So be careful, there are THOUSANDS of personal websites arguing over which ingredients are safe or not and we all know that you can’t believe everything you read on the internet. Don’t trust opinions, trust facts. So instead of getting paranoid of all the ‘dangerous’ ingredients, look at trusted websites like : Health Canada, Cosmetic Ingredient Review (CIR) Expert Panel and Comesticinfo.org.  Canada also has more strict requirements for cosmetics so it varies from country to country as well.

And don’t forget that any information can be twisted one way or another. Some of these so-called ‘harmful’ ingredients are taken out of context and related to high concentrations of each ingredient, where in reality you would never reach those concentrations in cosmetics.

For example, in many articles mineral oil has been deemed harmful because it clogs pores, causes acne and is a carcinogen. While it’s true that some petroleum derivatives contain carcinogenic materials, the mineral oil that is used in the cosmetic and pharmaceutical industry is highly refined and purified. As for acne and clogging pores, any oil has the possibility of causing these symptoms. So in my opinion, just make smarter choices because it’s better to be safe than sorry. I don’t like the idea of chemical makeup removers so I have always used baby oil (100% mineral oil) So now I’m switching to coconut oil. It’s that simple.

But in all my research I did come across some ingredients that I personally try to avoid in my cosmetics:

  • parabens
  • phthalates
  • artificial colors
  • propylene and butylene glycol
  • aluminum
  • mineral oil
  • petrolatum
  • oxybenzone
  • PABA
  • DEA, MEA or TEA
  • PEGs and PEG derivatives
  • ethoxylated ingredients
  • formaldehyde
  • GMOs

I thought it would be easy to find a cleansing line without these ingredients…..boy was I wrong. After spending serveral afternoons reading DOZENS of labels at drugstores I gave up and went to department store beauty counters. I assumed I would find better quality products (since they cost an arm and a leg) but it didn’t seem to make a difference. I found those ingredients (listed above) in all of these product lines:

  • Clinique
  • Dermatalogica
  • Clean and Clear
  • Aveeno Naturals
  • Neutrogena
  • Cetaphil
  • Estee Lauder
  • Mark K

And the list goes on…. and on and on. I did find some great product lines online but I couldn’t justify the cost. Then FINALLY I came across Alba products. Not only are their products 100% vegetarian but they don’t contain ANY of the harmful ingredients and they cost a FRACTION of the price of the other product lines! I was able to buy cleanser, toner and moisturizer for under $35.00! I love the smell of these products and the moisturizer is the only one that I’ve found that doesn’t leave my skin feeling like I slept in a Vaseline jar.

IMG_3143

But like I said. There are numerous articles about all of the ingredients found in cosmetics so make your decisions for yourself. Happy Reading!

The most beautiful makeup of a woman is passion. But cosmetics are easier to buy.

Author: Domestic Ingenuity

I am a DIY-ing, crafting, thrifting, baking, sewing, cooking, deal-loving gal with too much energy and a love for creating.

Leave a Reply

