——creativity never goes out of style——

Potato Curry Bowl

Leave a comment

IMG_1738

We had the best weekend at the ski hill for some much-needed R & R! We went up first thing Saturday morning and my hubby and I took a walk around the village followed by homemade panini sandwiches for lunch. Then in the afternoon we all bundled up and headed out for a two and a half hour snowshoe which was absolutely stunning from a fresh snowfall. After the seemingly never-ending uphill hike back (haha okay it wasn’t that bad) we soaked in the hot tub before enjoying homemade pad thai for dinner. Then we ended the night with great music and a fun game of poker. Sunday morning we slept in and then made a huge waffle breakfast. It was a heavenly little get-a-way before I went back to work today after my two-week Christmas break.

When got home in the afternoon yesterday, I decided the only way I was going to get excited about the regular routine of cooking again, was by creating new meals that I am excited to make and to eat. It’s so easy to get into the rut of saying “I have no idea what to make for dinner” while being surrounded by a kitchen full of ingredients. Just like the infamous “I don’t have anything to wear” amidst the dressers and closets full of clothing. All it takes is a little creativity and working with what you have. I had some potatoes that needed to be used up and a can of coconut milk and that’s all it took to get my hamster running. I love ethnic foods and lately I have had a serious hankering for spicy foods so an indian inspired dish it was. This dish really hit the spot and the mix of sweet and spicy conquered my craving… and it’s healthy!

My new approach to dinner is W.W.I.D.  Where Would I Dine?! haha. If you could pick a place to go for dinner where would it be and what would you order?! Be inspired by that and you’d be surprised with all the new ideas you’ll have. And if all else fails…. isn’t there a Pinterest board somewhere full of all those recipes you want to try?! Don’t give in to a bland dinner anymore.

This recipe is vegetarian for those of you who are sans meat. However if you are a carnivore like us there are so many possibilities. I made mine with fresh fish but you could use chicken or prawns as well.

Ingredients

  • 4 potatoes peeled, cubed
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 large red pepper, diced
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 4 tsp curry powder
  • 4 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tbsp fresh grated ginger
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can coconut milk

Directions:

1. Place potatoes into a large pot and cover with salted water. Bring to a boil over high heat, then reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until just tender, about 15 minutes. Drain and allow to steam dry for a minute or two.

2. While potatoes are cooking, in a large skillet over medium heat add oil and saute onions and garlic.  Stir until the onion has softened and turned clear, about 5 minutes. Add red pepper and season with cumin, cayenne pepper, curry powder, garam masala, ginger, and salt; cook for 2 minutes more.

3. Add the chickpeas, and potatoes. Pour in the coconut milk, and bring to a simmer. Simmer 5 to 10 minutes before serving.

You can serve this dish by itself with a side of naan bread or mixed with rice like I did for a heartier meal. Garnish with cilantro or a drizzle of sour cream and enjoy!

I don’t like gourmet cooking or “this” cooking or “that” cooking. I just like good cooking. – James Beard

Author: Domestic Ingenuity

I am a DIY-ing, crafting, thrifting, baking, sewing, cooking, deal-loving gal with too much energy and a love for creating.

Leave a Reply

